The Revamped 2014 World Tour

News is in about Pipe and beyond for the 2014 IBA World Tour. There’s change afoot.
Above: A man who doesn’t need an introduction (and new APB Hawaiian athlete rep) Mike Stewart, at the Pipeline. Photo: Doug Falter (from Riptide #193).

We’ve just received word from Alex Leon on behalf of the new bodyboarding association the APB (Association of Professional Bodyboarders), which was formed to control the direction of the sport. Rather than analyse it now, we thought we’d reproduce the media release here for y’all to scour, pick apart and tell us what you think.

2014 World Tour

After several weeks of negotiations it’s now confirmed that a 2014 World Tour will proceed in a revamped format.

Due to the volatility in the global economy, we believe that it will be better for all parties to revert back to a one world ranking system with all events being star rated.

This system was used in 2009, and was user friendly for both athletes and promoters.

So in a sense we are going “back to the future” to use a model that promotes growth.

After a complex year of up’s & down’s it time to lay down a solid platform from which the next phase of the sport will hatch.

This way, all events that meet the minimum prize-money and standards will be rated on the 2014 world tour.

The 2014 calendar has been set and the first event will be at Pipeline from Feb 18-28. “This is a pivotally event and year for bodyboarding, I will be my best with the support of the riders and staff to maintain the highest level of quality for the 2014 Pipe Challenge”, said Pipeline Organizer Ben Severson.

An International meeting took place on Sunday 5th Jan, which was crucial for the future of Bodyboarding. The A.P.B (Association of Professional Bodyboarder’s) was formed from a collaboration of the previous non-profit organization and the new rider representatives from around the world.

This group is a collaboration of athletes, officials and event promoters to represent the athletes of the sport and to steer the sport into a positive direction and protect its credibility.

The APB was formed with a paramount goal to control the direction of the sport and to represent the elite athletes as the established governing body. The APB will not run the world tour, but simply stabilize the sport. While the IBA Pty Ltd will continue to run events on the world tour, the APB will oversee their operations and assist where needed to ensure the best outcome for the sport and the athletes.

With Mike Stewart, Jeff Hubbard, Ryan Hardy, Guilherme Tamega, Karla Costa and Mark McCarthy respresenting the athletes, the future looks bright and positive for Bodyboarding.

The APB will act like a union in some way, by collectively making crucial decisions for the Mens, Womens & DK world tours and govern the sport of Bodyboarding.

The APB Structure:

Alex Leon                  (GM & events Rep)
Mike Stewart             (Hawaiian athlete Rep)
Guilherme Tamega  (Latin athlete Rep)
Craig Hadden          (Technical Operations)
Jeff Hubbard            (USA & DK athlete Rep)
Mark McCarthy         (Sth Africa athlete Rep)
Chico Garritano       (Head Judge)
Ryan Hardy              (Australian athlete Rep)
Karla Costa               (Womens athlete Rep)
Diogo Marquez        (European rep)

2014 Star Rating Event System for the Men’s World Tour

The minimum prize-money to be rated on the world tour will be US$25,000.

The final make up for the end of year rankings will be to include your best half plus one (rounded up) event points total. In the event that more than 1 rider has the same or equal points all ties will be broken by going to the next best result on the 2014 tour

If ties cannot be broken by counting up wards then a tie will be broken by counting down events results. Finally and only if the tie is unbreakable, then a surf off heat will be contested at the earliest chance between the tied riders.  

A maximum of 2000 points will be available to events that meet bonus requirements. Events will effectively start at 1000 points and work upwards.

Prize-money Bonus: Events can increase their star rating by adding prize-money.  200 extra points for every US$15,000 over the minimum $25,000 prize-money.

Infrastructure and Historical Standing Bonus: Events will be allocated 200 extra points based on the event set-up (i.e., web cast, contest structure and media) and the historical standing of the event. 

Waiting Period Bonus: Events will be allocated 200 extra points if they include a 10 day waiting period.

Premier Wave Bonus: Events will be allocated 200 or 400 extra points based on the wave quality.

Star Events Points Comparisons

1 Star = 1000 points            

2 Star = 1200 points

3 Star = 1400 points

4 Star = 1600 points

5 Star = 1800 points

6 Star = 2000 points

Examples of premier waves include :

Teahupoo, Tahiti

Zicatela, Mexico

Box, Western Australia

Pipeline, Hawaii

El Gringo, Chile

South Coast, New South Wales

Fronton, Canary Islands

Nazare, Portugal

Cave Rock, South Africa

Top 28 Mens, Top 8 DK and Top 8 Womens Riders

The 2014 world men’s tour will consist of the Top 28 riders in the World (determined off previous years “one world rankings”).

All riders will be required to pay an event entry fee like every other competitor. (this is linked to maintaining the minimum prize-money levels at events.)

To secure a Top 28 position, riders who elect to compete on tour will need to pay a one off Top 28 fee of US$500. This will secure their position in the highest rounds for any event all year. Like wise the Top 8 Women & Top 8 DK will also pay the $500 fee (Prior to surfing the first event in Hawaii)


There will be a maximum of 4 wildcards for each men’s event.

The APB will have 2 of these wildcards and the promoter will have the other 2.

The women’s and drop knee tours will remain unchanged from 2013.

More Information will be available at:  

There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *