Wild Weekend Wrap – 22nd June

Cave Rock Invitational, ABA Mystics Pro, IBA Hawaii Pro, Club news and more!

In what was possibly the busiest weekend in bodyboarding for a long time, there were 3 major comps decided, plus an interclub challenge and regular club comps too. We take a look at all the action beginning with the Cave Rock Invitational. 

South Africa

In pumping 4-5ft clean conditions, it was Hawaiian Jacob Romero who managed to take out the specialty event held at one of South Africa’s best waves, Cave Rock. Running in just one day, with a waiting period of a month, the competition drew some big names to the draw including defending champion and 2 x World Champion Andre Botha, super-grom Tristan Roberts, former DK world champion Sacha Specker, along with other South african stars Mark McCarthy and Iian Campbell. Throw in some of SA’s best surfers including Big Wave World Champ Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker and you have one hell of an event. 

10259044 782336931885761 1612681803935434179 n
Photo: Ryan Janssens

In the end it was Jacob Romero who took the crown after blowing away the small but vocal crowd all day with a collection of big moves including a massive invert in the final to secure the win. The other finalists were Stephen Du Preez, Derek Footit and Sacha Specker. 

1508627 782569148529206 5582535981323402719 n
Photo: Ryan Janssens

Congratulations Jacob!


In the final event on the ABA Pro Tour calender for 2015, Dave Winchester managed to secure the win in a hotly contested final with veteran shredder Andrew Lester. Stay tuned for a more comprehensive wrap on the event later in the week. 


In the first Pro event to be held at the venue, Dave Hubbard has secured the three-peat with wins in the Men’s Pro, DK and Standup divisions, while grom Kawika Kamai took out the Junior division. The Comp wraps up today with the Womens Pro and Senior divisions still to be decided. 

1053007 974469019254046 5910074702893687822 o

11013366 974469392587342 8242439705737667050 o
Photos: Banzai Productions

CCBA, NBC, FTBA, PSDB Interclub Challenge

in the annual interclub challenge saw four NSW central coast clubs pitted agains each other in some solid 4-5ft clean conditions. In the end it was Coffs Coast Bodyboard Association who took out the coveted trophy ahead of the Newcastle Bodyboard Club, who finished with the President’s Cup, Forster Tuncurry Bodyboard Association and Port Stephens District Bodyboarders. 

10407891 10153469875964669 4418495061795629239 n

Congratulations to the CCBA!

Gold Coast – Australia

Report by Stevie Lloyd

1743501 1016330138399933 3323394313376819934 n

A cold morning greeted us at our first ever comp at Palm Beach, 15th Ave. 

Rielly Mansour and Ben Smith were there at dark to help out and set up as we watched the swell slowly build off an early low tide. 

As the crew made their way down and we set up, fun, little waves started to detonate all around. We were glad to have put the vote to the people on where to have the comp as we were notified on the conditions at The Spit; poison. 

The Boys made their way out first and it’s insane how fast a lot of them are improving every comp. By the time the Elite and Men’s went out for their heats, the highest scoring wave had changed multiple times. 

Some of the stand outs were Dante Da Costa, who eventually scored the highest wave of the day with a nice, long barrel and a clean exit. Only to land a nice roll off the end bowl. His younger brother Armani is yet to win Groms as Corey Gornall surfs better than most grown men, however he came agonisingly close. The little fella attempted a solid ARS off a set wave only to clip his rail. Good effort lads. 

Jackson Galwey dominated 3 divisions. Winning two in the process. The Boys semi 2 was really high scoring. Rielly got knocked even though he got some epic waves because of the amount of barrels, combos and solid moves landed in the highest scoring heat of the day. 

Liam Baker is our Head Judge and within 5 minutes of the Men’s finals had locked in 3 solid scores. He wasn’t so lucky in Elite though as the younger fellas knocked out Liam and Dan Rosengreen. Leaving the older generation to focus on Men’s. Which Liam took out. 

Ben Smith was ripping all day and is getting really tight in his matured surfing approach. He took out Boys ahead of Dante in spectacular fashion. Ned Swan is pretty quiet on land, but an animal in the water. Dude got 2nd in Youths and was close to winning the Elite final but ended up in 3rd after Jackson and Dante went crazy in the last 5 minutes. 

The club seems to run so smoothly and it is without a doubt to the rad bunch of humans who help out all day.

Liam Baker and Luke Gornall are judging extraordinares. They spend the whole day in the tent, complete judging courses and study the updated and official Judges handbook to make sure they are consistently improving and on top of their game. Epic commitment. 

Heath, Dan, Chubs and Kaylee helped out with a bit of judging under their guidance also. Kaylee also does all our tabulating and is super quick and mega pretty. 

Ryan Smyth Photography (“like” his page on FACEBOOK, you’ll be blown away) comes down every comp to shoot photos of us all. He doesn’t get paid, he does it for the love. If you’re ever in need of some photos to boost your boogie profile, get in touch with him. 

Those amazing bacon and egg sandwiches that get demolished are cooked and prepared by Tony. They also bring treats to keep us all stoked and fueled up for the day. Thanks mate!

Everyone seems to help out throughout the day though. Whether it’s changing the flags, chasing fly away gazebos, picking up rubbish or helping to pack up. 

Massive thankyou’s to all of the people named above. The clubs growing success and the way it seems to be smoothly run is because of you. Epic humans you all are. 

Results are as follows; 


1st – Corey Gornall 
2nd – Armani Da Costa 


1st – Ben Smith 
2nd – Dante Da Costa 
3rd – CJ Hartland 
4th – Bryce Forbes 


1st – Jackson Galwey 
2nd – Ned Swan 
3rd – CJ Hartland 
4th – Matt Butterworth 
5th – Nate Baldock Davis 


1st – Liam Baker 
2nd – Jackson Galwey 
3rd – Dan Rosengreen 
4th – James Fingleton 


1st – Jackson Galwey 
2nd – Dante Da Costa 
3rd – Ned Swan 
4th – MJ Glass

Next scheduled comp is July 19th 

There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.